Crazy/Queer Week

Ok, so this week was freaking nuts. I’ve been meaning to do some writing here, and haven’t gotten around to it. Here are a few of the reasons:

1. Monday, my mom went to the hospital. She’s fine – just hot flashes and tanning beds can be quite nuclear. Still, scary. The follow-up with her doc went well, but she still took an ambulance ride, and since she’s prone to panic attacks, it’s taken her a few days to come down. I love my mommy, and it scared me. ’nuff said.

2. Work has been absolutely crazy busy. Busy is GOOD, don’t get me wrong, but combine that with being a full-time graduate student and life gets hectic… like I tuned into war of the worlds 12 minutes too late hectic.

3. I’m lagging behind with my homework, and I have a very specific reading process – it takes longer than the average bear, but then I don’t have to study later. If I get behind, the workload PILES up in unbelievable proportions.

4. I changed committee chairs this week – to someone whose background and temperament is better suited to my needs. Some egos were hurt in the process, though the stoic egos never admit this is the case…

5. It’s week 4 of our 4 week rotating diet. I don’t know how few calories we’ve been eating per day, but I think it’s only like 700-750. My body CRAVES food. I cheated and made pasta salad at 2am on Monday morning.

6. Teaching wears me out. I love and adore my students and teaching them, but prepping and constantly trying to be ON takes something out of me. It also gives something back – this one is a trade off. It usually takes the 1.25 hour drive back home from school to recover – and many cigarettes since smoking has been banned on campus.

7. My wife is incredibly supportive, but I’ll be damned if no matter how hard we try, we can’t get everything accomplished, and our house is a wreck, laundry is behind, and I can’t bring myself to do any of it. She wants to do it to support me while I’m in school, but she drives me to school and works full time, too… hmmm… we need a maid, but factor in the trailer park upbringing I have and voila – massive guilt about not being able to do it myself. Never mind that we always seem to be quite broke and can’t afford it.

8. I’m whiny and annoying. This wears on other people. Case in point: this post, and the one before it.

9. Yesterday, my company was villified in the morning and informed it was receiving a “community heroes” award in the afternoon. It’s an emo-rollercoaster around here… and damage control is often my job… I feel like I’m winning, though. This is a good thing.

10. I really need sleep – and CARBS.

TPQ

Comments
2 Responses to “Crazy/Queer Week”
  1. Bucth Boo says:

    My baby brother is just the same!! Symapthy and empathy to ya!

Leave a Reply

