another rich f*** gives money to HRC

Ok… so Bruce Bastian gave money to the HRC. Not just money, but ::conjure dr. evil here:: one million dollars :: press pinky to lip:: I’m quite beginning to think the organization is evil. The more I read and the more I pay attention, the more I think the organization is simply trying to tell us what we should think, what we should want, and then get us to give them money to do what they want to do. Marriage equality is so at the end of everything for me, and a last resort as far as obtaining equality goes. How equality-forward of LGBTQ people is it to join an institution that perpetuates inequality? Not. That’s my point.

Just to throw some stats out there: In 2001, according to the U.S. Census, 43.3 percent of black men and 41.9 percent of black women in America had never been married, in contrast to 27.4 percent and 20.7 percent respectively for whites. Couple this with something I was reading in Katherine Newman’s newest book, The Missing Class, and it’s painfully obvious that marriage actually perpetuates inequality.

Some blame it on changing values in American society, and some get all up in arms and try to defend traditional marriage, and make claims of marriage’s sanctity, but it’s not even about that. Picture yourself poor. Now picture yourself attempting to fall in love, but having seen a few married couples struggle with their relationships and finances because they can’t afford a divorce – and let’s face it, your neighbors – the few couples you do see still together, are also poor – because neighborhoods are both racially and economically segregated. Choosing a partner is not about love – it’s about a second income, it’s about whatever children you may or may not have, and it’s about knowing that a divorce is a hell of a lot more expensive than a marriage license. So, taking advantage of the benefits of marriage for poor people becomes incomprehensible. The tax breaks really don’t help unless you’re in the over 30,000 combined tax bracket – before that, you’re nothing to the federal government, except one more number paying a too large percentage of your income to the fucking government.

Black women seem to be hit the hardest by declining marriage rates, but I would argue that it’s a self-protection move. But by protecting themselves from the thousand things that can go wrong when you pledge your life – legally – to another person, also means you are not afforded the benefits that come along with doing so. The institution of marriage is set up to benefit white people and wealthier people. and by wealthy, I mean individually, you make over $30,000 a year, ’cause let’s face it – that’s 2.5 times what I make, and that may not be “rollin’ in dough” but it sure makes life a little easier. Of course, with the price of gas, I may need to amend that to $50,000.

Which gets me totally sidetracked because I saw this thing on CNN the other day that was critiquing Obama’s tax plan, and it profiled a couple – dad a pediatrician and mom a school counselor – who make over $250,000 a year combined. AND THEY SAID THEY DON”T FEEL RICH. SHE CLIPS COUPONS. If you are struggling with your million dollar home and your $50,000 SUVs and the price of gas – it is not my fault you’re an idiot, and guess what? YOU ARE RICH. Live on my income for a month – I dare you. but I’m not angry at them – they’re just freakin’ dumb. Medical and Psychology degrees aside – they’re dumb. It’s not the IRS’s fault you over-spent, got too many credit cards, won’t buy non-name brand products, and refuse to send your children to public school. It won’t hurt you to pay more taxes than it will someone like me who makes 5% of your annual income. My partner and I combined barely make 10% of your annual income. I seriously dare them to make it on that for a month. I can guarantee she won’t be able to afford expensive makeup, brand name clothing and food, nice hair products, wrinkle cream, or botox. Her kids might have to go to public school, which might not be in the best neighborhood – so guess what? they might see a Black person, or white trash, god forbid. and their children might actually taste bologna or vienna sausages. When you can eat meat out of a can and like it, we’ll talk. ’cause potted meat sandwiches are still good – but only on white bread with mayonnaise and sweet pickles.

I really have to stop ranting now – it’s sounding really whiny. I should probably delete this so you don’t become tired of me, but what the hell? It’s a true picture of a day in the life.
TPQ

Comments
11 Responses to “another rich f*** gives money to HRC”
  1. Jonathan says:

    Damn, I can’t recall how long it’s been since I had vienna sausages or potted meat!! (white bread and Dukes mayonnaise – the only way) Don’t know if that’s a southern thing or poor thing but it’s part of me too I’m proud!

  2. probably that summer b and i lived in my grandmother’s trailer… i think we had some of that. He flipped out at the thought of it, but I seem to recall you and I having Vienna sausages with dukes and mustard on white bread – the 49 cent loaf from food lion… It may have been that we were *ahem* under the influence a lot that summer, but I remember thinking they were really yummy.

    TPQ

  3. Jonathan says:

    Wow, what a summer that was!! **flashback** 🙂

  4. I know, right? I’m kinda missin’ Vicki after thinking about it – “white cracker honkyhonky swamp donkey” and do you remember telling me “it’s a really wide road”?
    TPQ

  5. Jonathan says:

    i still say that phrase from vicki! Oh I remember the wide road comment! we had a few good one liners – of course you had to be there. on another interesting note, i stayed with two girls for a couple of months last winter and one of them was really good friends with vicki. we actually hung out with her brother alex some.

  6. My goodness, is she still alive? I sometimes wonder who all made it… I know demonanne’s in TX right now with the husband and their daughter, but Vicki, man, it’s been a while… Alex always was kind of a cool kid, but when we were in high school hanging out with Vicki, I think we thought of him like DJ on Roseanne – he was really young.

  7. Tony Sidaway says:

    It’s about changing minds.

  8. Michael says:

    Oh, I’d already read this one.

  9. Andy says:

    You do drugs and bitch about being poor? Give me a fucking break.

  10. Lee says:

    I really don’t like Balogna but mac & cheeze & vienna sausages yes. Had that a few times when I was in college & enjoyed it. Sometimes people give from the heart to causes you and I may or may not agree with. Be thankful they affect change and are financial angels which create and compel thought and freedom of speech you may express. Where would we be without application programs produced by great minds such as Bruce and Alan? Or even Mr. Gates?? Somewhere along the line $’s grease the wheels that keep us going ever forward.

Leave a Reply

